The protein gluten to be found in certain grains like wheat, barley, or rye, is basically part of healthy diet. Only refrain from it when you are diagnosed with the autoimmune disorder celiac disease or another intolerance to gluten. Read on to learn more about…
THE PHILOSOPHY BEHIND
Polly Marone from Northfield, MN, asks:
My husband Paul claims healthy lifestyle since he refrains from food containing gluten, although he has no celiac disease. Is he right, Doc?
Around 1% of the population are struck by the genetic autoimmune disorder named celiac disease. A condition damaging the small intestine by ingestion of gluten, a protein found in certain grains as wheat, barley, and rye, and accordingly in food produced with these grains like bread, pasta, and other baked goods.
If you belong to these 1%, or have another diagnosed intolerance to gluten, you should certainly refrain from these nutritional ‘triggers’.
Yet, it has become ‘modern’ – not to say: a ‘hype’ – to stay ‘gluten-free’ basically, as this ‘stripped’ diet is perceived to be simply more healthful than regular diet.
As a leading documentation and information center New Medical Frontiers, Inc. receives a lot of questions daily. Learn about the answers in this blog "Ask The Natural Online Doctor".
Dr. Mark Fritz, NMD, PhD